Ducati 899 Panigale Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
O.K . . . I've been for my test ride. I have been browsing both this & the 675R forums for a couple of months in order to get a vibe on both bikes - strong points, weak points and most importantly, potential problems. I guess I was prepared for certain aspects of the bike and unprepared for others - either way, I need to test both before I invest any spondoolies as neither are cheap bikes . . .

I duly turned up at the Lincoln Ducati dealers - a quick check of my driver's licence and additional photo ID, waiver signed, brief demo of the controls, then at 10.45am and one stab of the starter button later I was tentatively making my way out onto the open highway.
The salesman had shown me the riding modes but also made a point of leaving the bike in "Sport" with the inherent but unspoken suggestion that "Race" would be a little too risque - I wasn't complaining and personally, would have selected wet for my initial familiarisation. That said, the throttle response was far less snatchy and felt more progressive than on my 1050 Tiger on which injudicious use of the throttle in low gears will have you lurching back and forth quite violently. It's never been a problem with the Tiger - it's simply a question of small progressive movements of the twist grip with appropriate use of the clutch. Anyway, the Ducati felt like a ***** cat and wasn't in the slightest bit intimidating. My first reaction as I pulled out onto the road - Jeez, this thing feels like a dinky toy!! Well, I am 6ft 3" and I'm used to the 1050 Tiger which is a big tall bike by any standards.