Ducati 899 Panigale Forum banner

Ducati 899 Panigale vs 848 EVO

57K views 29 replies 19 participants last post by  Karlos 
#1 ·
Well its a matter of time before someone compares the 899 to the 848.

Even though the 899 is the 1199s little brother. In some ways the 899 is the 848s successor.

#2 ·
Comparing the two is needed. Some people are probably debating if they should buy a new 899 or save some money off of the initial costs and buy a used 848. I'm a new tech buff and love the 1199 but just can't spend that much, to me, the 899 is perfect. 848 is just a bit too old for me.

#4 ·
This is all the specs from the Ducati Canada website on the Streetfighter 848.

Engine
Type: L-Twin cylinder, 4 valve per cylinder Desmodromic, liquid cooled
Displacement: 849cc
Bore x Stroke: 94x61,2mm
Compression ratio: 13.2:1
▂Power132hp (97kW) @ 10.000rpm
▂Torque93.5 Nm (69 lb-ft) @ 9,500 rpm
Technical data referring to power and torque was measured on an engine test stand at Ducati.
Fuel injection: Marelli electronic fuel injection, elliptical throttle bodies
Exhaust: Lightweight 2-1-2 system with catalytic converter and two lambda probes. Twin stainless steel mufflers

Transmission

Gearbox: 6 speed
Primary drive: Straight cut gears, Ratio 1.84:1
Ratio: 1=37/15 2=30/17 3=28/20 4=26/22 5=24/23 6=23/24
Final drive: Chain; Front sprocket 15; Rear sprocket 42
Clutch: Wet multiplate with hydraulic control

Chassis

Frame: Tubular steel Trellis frame in ALS 450
Front suspension: Marzocchi 43mm fully adjustable usd forks
Front whee: l10-spoke in light alloy 3.50 x 17
Front Tyre: Pirelli Diablo Corsa 120/70 ZR17
Rear suspension: Progressive linkage with fully adjustable monoshock. Aluminium single-sided swingarm
Rear wheel: 10-spoke light alloy 5.50 x 17
Rear tyre: Pirelli Diablo Corsa 180/60 ZR17
Front wheel travel: 127mm (5in)
Rear wheel travel: 127mm (5in)
Front brake: 2 x 320mm semi-floating discs, radially mounted Brembo callipers 4-piston, 2-pad