Ducati 899 Panigale Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I’ve been about two months into the life of owning a Ducati and last night I felt something off. So after a night of riding and attempting to do a couple of power wheelies (attempting as I’m new to the bike life) we stopped over for coffees. Upon jumping back on the bike I noticed the bike sounded a tad quieter compared to how she has been since ownership, the usual powerband feeling at around the 7k rpm didn’t have that regular punch it had and just felt it was taking a very long time to hit limiter.
Haven’t had any warning lights on the dash nor any error codes, old owner claims it has 10,000km although I always keep questioning it in my head.
I have read in some places that it could be spark plugs but thought I’ll see if one of you gentleman have come across this and if so what was the issue before I start pulling the bike apart while assuming what the issue is.
thanks in advance x

·
Registered
92 Posts
Check if the flapper valve (on the exhaust) is stuck in the closed position. It's spring loaded and its resting position should be open. See image below.

Automotive tire Motor vehicle Automotive lighting Bicycle chain Bicycle part

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Check if the flapper valve (on the exhaust) is stuck in the closed position. It's spring loaded and its resting position should be open. See image below.

View attachment 41173
Cheers mate
I’ll end up taking it apart tomorrow and will update on what I find. Now with that flapper if it’s resting position is open when does it really close? Or does it stay open always?

·
Registered
92 Posts