Ducati 899 Panigale Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I put one of those DDA/GPS on my bike for the track and I gotta say Im lovin it. I was on a straight trying to keep up with a couple of instructors glanced down at 120mph. When I got back to my computer and was looking at the data i actually hit 130.598mph in 4th gear. I was also able to see that I start slowing down way to early and could even hit the corners a lot faster. Anyhow my question is what is the top speed you have hit on your 899? I'm still fairly new to the street bike thing and that was by far the fastest I have ever gone. Do you recall in Star Wars when they hit warp speed the stars become lines well thats what the grass looked like to me! At least from what I can remember...:D

·
Premium Member
569 Posts
@tdarst

The data on my bike says 149.3 at the end of the long straight at High Plains Raceway here in Colorado.

I believe that the pickup is at the rear wheel, though, not off of the GPS, so I'm guessing that like most motorcycle speedometers it's optimistic by some amount, probably in the 5% range.

·
Registered
723 Posts
My dash has read 152/153mph a few times now :p

I haven't tried recording a run with the GPS app on my phone to see what the dash error % is yet though, since those runs are never planned in advance haha!

I'll for sure do it in the next couple months tho. Once I get my new tires installed this weekend and have a couple hundred miles on then I'll be game. Now that I have literally every aspect of the bike perfectly dialed in now to my liking, I am going to shoot for a real balls out true top speed run in perfect ideal conditions.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My dash has read 152/153mph a few times now :p

I haven't tried recording a run with the GPS app on my phone to see what the dash error % is yet though, since those runs are never planned in advance haha!